Who knows if this will ever be published, it might be too much, too soon.

The last year has been a whirlwind. We’ve moved, J started a new job, and our family grew by 2. It has been kind of crazy to say the least. The change isn’t ending though, and this time we have even less control.

When we decided to move, the driving force was to be near family. But, and there is always a but, my family isn’t happy here. I don’t mean my husband and the kids, we all love it. Love our house, our jobs, our church, our friends. I mean my sister, and her crew. Which leaves them in a very difficult situation. It’s the age old struggle of the perpetual people please-r. How do you make everyone happy? Well, you don’t. Which is why, when my sister confided that this new town wasn’t working out, and they were seriously considering moving back, I told her to go. Not because I won’t miss her, or we need our family less. Not because I have any plans of moving my family again. Because I love my sister, and ultimately they need to do what God is calling them to do, and what is right for them.

Which brings me to today. I got a text last night that they’ve come to a deal on their house, and they close the end of May. Now, I have to actually practice what I’ve preached. I have to actually support them in their move, not just say that I do, while silently hoping that no one is interested. The good news is they will only be an hour away. Technology makes the world a much smaller place. It won’t be too long before my oldest niece is driving. This will still work, my kids will still know their cousins and aunt and uncle as part of their regular family, and not just people they see from time to time. But this has a lot of implications for my family too, but as an adult, accepting what I can’t change is just part of the deal. So here is to doing what makes sense for your family. Here is to trusting God even when the situation seems odd, or even silly. Here is to being the grown up that I have no desire to be. I love you Sis. I am proud of you, and I really do support you in this. IMG_1660

Leave a Reply

